History of Coorg

Find Out Now, interesting facts you didn’t know about the HISTORY OF COORG? Read Fast

Kodavas were the first farmers in Kodagu, living there for centuries. Like Chengalvas and Kongalvas, they were ruled by Nayakas and Palegaras in the past. Throughout the centuries, several South Indian dynasties made Kodagu their home.

You can learn about the evolution of Coorg in details

The Kadambas, the Gangas, the Cholas, the Chalukyas, the Rastrakutas, and the Hoysalas,

Legendary stories were the first account of Kodagu.

During the 9th and 10th centuries, the region’s history was recorded. 

Gangas of Talakkadu ruled during these times.

It involves the east and part of the north of Kodagu, together with the Hunasur taluk in Mysore.

In the 11th century, the Cholas topple the Ganga power.

And the Changalvas became tributaries of the Cholas. In Kodagu, Changalvas and Kongalvas were feudal lords who had a joint dynasty.

Raja Raja Chola ruled in Tanjavur. It was the time when the Changalvas continued to rule under Chola suzerainty.

In the 12 century, Local chieftains in the Chola kingdom rebelled against the Chola kings. Including the Alupas of Tulunad and the Changalvas of Kodagu.

But, it was the Hoysalas, who were in Belur, in Hassan district.

They drove the Cholas from the Kannada area of Mysore and surrounding areas.

After becoming independent, the Chengalvas rejected the Hoyasala rule.

Pemma Veerappa was the first king to carve the word “Kodagaru” (Kodavas) on the stone asanas. He called the region Kodagu.

Bettarasa, the general of Hoysala King Ballala II, laid siege to Palpare Fort in 1174 AD. He then fought two battles against Changalva King Pemma Veerappa.

Pemma Veerappa defeated the Hoysalas in the first battle of the Palser war.

But in the second, Bettarasa defeated the Coorgs and made them his subordinates.

When the Cholas were expelled from Mysore by the Hoysalas in the 12th century. Changalvas fought for independence. But they were subdued and became vassals of the Hoysala kings.

Vijayanagara ruled them after the Hoysalas fell in the 14th century.

During this period, Nanja Raja founded the new Changalva. It is the capital of Nanjarajapatna at the beginning of the 16th century.

Raja George was deposed from power on 11 April 1834 by Colonel Fraser.

And on 7th May the state was annexed to the East India Company’s territory as Coorg.

Having been deported to Vellore in 1852. The raja obtained permission to visit England with his favorite daughter, Gauramma.

He wished to give a European education to her.

On the 30th of June, she was baptized. Queen Victoria is one of her patrons. After her baptism, she married a British officer.

In 1863, Vira Raja passed away and was buried in Kensal Green cemetery.

The Coorg rebellion of 1837 is thought to be a rising of the Gaudas.

It was due to resentment over having to pay taxes in cash instead of kind.

A man named Virappa pretended to have escaped the massacre of 1820 to assert his claim to be a raja. However, the people remained loyal to the British, and the attempt failed.

Commissioner was responsible for managing it. He is subordinate to the Governor-General of India. And through the resident of Mysore, who was also the official chief commissioner of Coorg.

After India’s independence in 1947, Coorg became a province, and in 1950 a Coorg state, of India.

In 1956, India’s state boundaries were reorganized along linguistic lines. Mysore became a district of Coorg in the 19th century.

This state later became the modern state of Karnataka. As a consequence, Kodagu is now the proper name of the district.After this Kodagu was divided into three Districts: Madikeri (Mercera), Somwarpet, and Virajpet.

Learn more if you are excited to explore and witness the natural beauty of COORG, its culture and history

Thanks For Reading